Chronicles of a Pessimist 55 Pt 2

screenshot-60

“Hi, can you make us the absolutely strongest stuff you have on the menu?” Tammie asked Anna and Demarcus. “And I do mean strong. We need it.”

She nodded at the others, after which she and Kareem burst out into giggles.

“That guy’s here, so attention should be away from us for as long as he’s present,” Tammie chuckled.

“What is the deal with that anyways?” Kareem asked. “He’s rich, right? I thought everyone here was rich too.”

“Yeah, but apparently, Mr. Eddie was a big hit with the ladies when they were all younger.”

screenshot-61

“He still is, as far as I can see,” Anna noticed.

“Oh yeah. He is. Never understood it, frankly. I’ve always thought there was something off about the guy, but I don’t know him that well, so I can’t really say,” Tammie shrugged.

“He does have a certain sort of energy about him,” Kareem said.

“Oh, not you too,” Tammie nudged him.

“What? He’s very inspirational,” Kareem chuckled, prompting Tammie to nudge him again, laughing.

screenshot-62

“So, are you two an item?” Anna asked.

“Are we?” Tammie and Kareem exchanged a look, laughing again. “I don’t even know this guy. Who is this?”

They both laughed at this.

“We’ve been besties since middle school,” Kareem explained. “We did date a bit though, in high school.”

“Yeah, for about a month. And then we broke up and didn’t talk for nearly a year,” Tammie added. “Which sucked.”

“But that’s in the past. We’re tight again these days. And Tammie always invites me to these shindigs so I can get some inspo. In return, I keep her company so that she doesn’t go completely crazy among these people,” Kareem explained.

screenshot-63

“Inspo? Are you an artist?” Anna asked, curious.

“I write.”

“He’s being modest. This is Kareem Pace. Maybe you’ve heard of him?” Tammie smiled.

“Kareem Pace?!” Marcus nearly jumped. “Wait, you’re that Kareem Pace?”

“You’re the writer!” Anna understood. She recalled Marcus going absolutely crazy after reading a nail-biting thriller written by this guy. Ever since then, he has devoured most of this man’s works, praising all of them highly.

Screenshot-64

“Yeah, I guess I got lucky. One book got published and it really flew of the shelves, so now all the publishers actually all want to work with me,” Kareem chuckled. “I’m sticking with my OG publisher, though. He’s the one who actually stuck by me since the start.”

“It’s pretty hard to make it in that industry, isn’t it?” Anna understood.

“Yeah, like I said, I pretty much got lucky with someone who took a chance on me,” Kareem admitted. “I’m sure there are many who could write even bigger hits if someone gave them a chance.”

“Maybe you can!” Anna offered. “With your name attached, you could probably help some young authors. Maybe even start your own publishing house?”

“Who knows? Maybe I will eventually,” he nodded. “Do you write?”

“Oh, no. I draw, but creating a story isn’t really my strong point. I leave that to the professionals,” Anna laughed. “Honestly, I have mad respect for anyone creating stories – how do you keep all those details in your head?”

“Hah, I actually feel like that’s easy. Now, art sounds way more complicated to me, so I guess we’re even,” Kareem smiled. “Now, how did all of us artistic-minded folks end up here?”

“Life, man. Life,” Demarcus shook his head. “Bills need to be paid and folks need their drinks.“

“If only we could do it in less unsavory company,” Tammie shot a tired look to where her aunt was chatting with the birthday boy and the others.

“You could say that again,” mumbled Nick, who was about done with his drink and ready to head out. This “high society” was not for him.

screenshot-67

The elders and Chandra took up the space in the little nook of the club to get some privacy and discuss matters of interest without interruption from others.

“I really hope this place is to your liking, Uncle, Eddie,” Chandra told him. Honestly, this club was not her first choice, but the reservation for her original option fell through the same way as the original caterer and bartender.

“Oh, don’t fret, darling,” Eddie reassured her. “It is very cozy here. I love the ambience.”

“That’s great,” Chandra breathed a sigh of relief.

“It is nice. But I do wish the bartenders would pay more attention to how much some of the guests are consuming,” Janis tsked. “It wouldn’t do for the guests to get alcohol poisoning.”

screenshot-69

“Oh, Janis, I’m sure we drank much more than that when we were their age,“ Eddie chuckled. “I know I sure did.”

“Yeah, and you’re lucky you’re still here with us,” Janis shook her head.

“They haven’t reached the point where they have to think about those things yet,” Donna smiled. “I admit I’m a bit envious – things were so much easy back when we were younger.”

screenshot-68

“Won’t lie, things were certainly easier when I didn’t have to get chewed out by my doc over a little extra sugar,” Eddie agreed. “Or by my attorneys, for not following some obscure regulation that shouldn’t even affect my business.”

“Oof, what is it this time?” Janis asked.

screenshot-79

“They’re saying I didn’t pay my license fee for doing business in in Louisiana,” Eddie harrumphed. “I don’t even have business there!”

“Wait, Eddie, but didn’t you have that big shipping contract with a Louisiana company?” Donna recalled.

“Oh, come on, it was a one time transaction.”

screenshot-77

“For over a million, Uncle Eddie,” Chandra chuckled. “You know they won’t let it slide.”

“See? I’m telling you, things were easier in the past.”

Yes, Chandra agreed. In the past, one could grease the right pockets and the government would never have looked twice at Eddie’s business.

Times have changed, indeed.

“You just have to be smarter over this sort of thing,” Janis shook her head.

“Care to elaborate?” Chandra perked up.

“You want to make sure your gains are well offset in a way that profits you. Have you considered purchasing a plane?” Janis asked.

“A plane? It could be useful, but most of my shipping is done over a boat or on truck, if it’s in the country,” Eddie considered the idea.

“True. But you ship construction supplies all over the place. You could use a private plane. Then, take the maximum depreciation on it, offset your overall income.”

“You’ve got a point,” Eddie nodded.

“Hmm. And with a plane, once it’s a business asset, you can rent it to your friends at a reasonable price. Income plus expenses. You follow?”

“Indeed!” Eddie laughed. “Any more advice?”

“Oh, honey,” Janis laughed. “Ask me when we’re more in private.”

She glanced over to the others at the bar.

“But I will say this – a good trust attorney can save and make you millions,” she winked.

“Speaking of good attorneys, can you point me towards one? And towards a good CPA?” Chandra asked. “I’m ok if they charge biting prices.”

“Dear, I’ve just the people in mind for you,” Janis smiled. “I will give you all the details. But say, isn’t your sonny going to join us for your day, Eddie?”

“He should be in soon.”

screenshot-89

To Josie’s consternation, once Nick ditched her, Maria seemed to have latched on to her.

“So, what happened to you back when you left Starlight Shores? I came in to the studio and not only are you not there, but there’s some cop asking for you? Whatever was that about?” Maria asked.

That bitch!!! Josie couldn’t believe the gall of her.

It was Maria’s fault she ended up in legal trouble over taking that stage jewelry in the first place. She was the one who mentioned actors were allowed to keep the props they wore in the scenes.

Yes, Josie should probably have checked the contract more diligently… but she was angry over her screen time being cut. She was owed something!

screenshot-88

Of course Maria would ask about that now…

“Yes, it seemed to have been a big misunderstanding, at the end of the day,“ Josie told her, trying her best to keep it cool.

“I’m glad. Legal problems are always such a pain in the entertainment industry. Make one misstep and they hound you for years…”

screenshot-81

“Yes, I know. It is really a pain,” Josie agreed. Maybe this was why she was having issues getting callbacks lately?

She wondered if Maria also had something to do with this. She wouldn’t be surprised if she did. This woman had it out for her since the day they met.

Out of the corner of her eye, she saw the old dinosaur get up to go greet a newly arrived man at the club.

screenshot-82

Who was that supposed to be? His boyfriend or something? Now, wouldn’t that be a hoot? If, after all that female attention he was getting, he was playing for the other side, thought Josie.

Too bad. The younger guy wasn’t too hard on the eyes.

“You know, for whatever it’s worth, I was pretty sad to see you leave Starlight Shores. Things got boring afterwards,” Maria shrugged. “No drama at all.”

screenshot-85

“Harvey, what’s taken you so long?” Eddie asked. “Can’t even be on time for your old man’s birthday?”

“Oh, come on, Pops. You know how it is at the club. They can’t do a thing without me shepherding them. Also, there’s this issue.. but it’s not a topic for today. Today’s your day. The big 80, eh? Happy Birthday, Dad!”

Harvey pulled Eddie into a big hug.

screenshot-86

“Now that’s more like it,” Eddie smiled before noticing the giveaway scent of booze on his son. “Hey, have you been pregaming before coming to a bar?”

“Yeah, it’s a holiday, Pops. Can’t I celebrate your birthday?”

“Ah, you’re hopeless.”

screenshot-94

“What exactly is that supposed to mean?” Josie asked Maria pointedly. “Are you saying I was stirring up drama on set?”

“Weren’t you?” Maria giggled. “I mean, that’s kind of your whole thing, isn’t it? Show up, make a lot of noise, be noticed.”

“I don’t need to make a lot of noise to get noticed, Maria. You know that damn well,” Josie glared.

“No, but that is a thing you do,” Maria continued. “Don’t worry, I understand completely. In this industry, anything is a weapon to get ahead. Some do it through talent, others… well, you know.”

screenshot-98

That woman! If Chandra wasn’t in this room right now, Josie would already have been in a fistfight with Maria. But she had a very certain feeling that if she did that here, while her aunt was shmoozing up to her rich buddies, she would end up kicked out.

This sucked!

Especially since Maria was the absolute last person she wanted to run into in Brooklyn Heights or anywhere else, for that matter. If only someone could take Maria’s attention away from Josie…

screenshot-101-1

“Harvey! It’s been ages!” Chandra greeted her old friend and school mate. “How’s life treating you these days?”

Better than it would have had she followed through on her original plan to introduce him and Josie, she was sure. But he didn’t need to know that.

He briefly glanced towards where Josie was embroiled in a half-argument with Maria, wondering what that was all about, before turning back to Chandra.

“I’m good, you know me. How are you, C? By the way, red is totally your color,” Harvey complimented.

screenshot-102

“Oh, you’re a charmer. We should catch up sometime. I feel like we haven’t properly spoken since school,” Chandra laughed.

“Yeah, it’s a pain. So much stuff to do all the time. I’m stuck at the club almost around the clock lately,” Harvey grumbled. “Is it the same with your firm?”

“Oh, you know it. The hustle never stops. But it’s paying off. The profits have spiked after the last quarter.”

“Congratulations! I think this calls for some kind of celebration,” Harvey proposed.

“I’ll celebrate when the spike proves to not be a fluke,” Chandra told him.

screenshot-116-2

“I’m confident it won’t be a fluke. You’ve always had a sharp head on your shoulders,” Eddie reassured Chandra. “I’ve always known you’ll go far in business.”

“Thank you, Uncle Eddie.”

“You do have quite the knack for these things, my girl,” Janis nodded. “Just like I did when I was your age. I’m definitely giving you my attorney’s details. Say, how is your firm doing with investors?”

screenshot-127-2

“We aren’t public yet,” Chandra admitted. “But I’m hoping to get there.”

“I think we could do well if we combine our business strategies. Don’t you, Eddie?” Janis asked.

“Oh, yes, you two would be an absolute powerhouse together,” the man agreed. “And if it comes to that, I’m not opposed myself to putting in some capital.”

“Oh, Janis, Uncle Eddie, that is the highest praise coming from you two,” Chandra did her best to hide the glee from showing on her face. This was the whole goal of hosting Eddie’s birthday party, of course.

“Yeah, sounds like a plan,” Harvey nodded, somewhat absentmindedly. Looking at him, Eddie got the idea that the pregaming his son did before coming here was of a serious nature.

screenshot-128-2

While the elders were busy schmoozing, Tammie and Kareem stepped out for a moment.

“Dude, I’ve got news – I’m not wearing it right now, but I have a ring. Guillaume proposed last week,” she told him.

“Girl!!! Congrats!!! When’s the wedding? Let me know so I can give you a proper present.”

“Well, we’re not sure yet. You’re literally the first person who knows in Brooklyn Heights.”

“Why the secrecy? You’re not scared Maria will try to sink her hands into him, are you?”

screenshot-131

“Oh, no. Although, considering her involvement in the Keith situation, she might start rumors if she finds out. You know how vengeful she can be. But no, we’re still thinking through the whole living in two different countries thing.”

“Tams, you know you can’t keep living your life for others. Your aunt is a big girl, she’ll handle you moving to France.”

“I know, but…”

“No buts! Go to France, enjoy the lovely European countryside, your fiance’s delicious wine, and of course, your gorgeous fiance himself.”

screenshot-146

“And if it comes to any crazy scheme those wackos want to involve your aunt in, you can rely on me. Donna’s like an aunt to me as well and I’m totally fine with telling sketchy scammers to hit the road,” Kareem reassured her.

“Oh, good, you think this whole evening is sketchy too, right?” Tammie asked.

“Duh, one has to be an idiot not to. No offense to your aunt.”

“None taken. She is way too trusting. I wish she’d stop hanging out with Janis. That woman has always been the ringleader and some of her schemes are just as questionable as Chandra’s.”

“Yeah, I guess there are those types of folks in every generation.”

“Unfortunately.”

screenshot-70

After the long evening of chatting and networking, Amanda also allowed herself to have a drink. And no sooner had she drank some, had she noticed her husband heading for the drinks himself.

Again.

“Darling, are you quite alright?” she asked. “You’ve had a few too many already, haven’t you? And you’re not looking like yourself.”

screenshot-73

“I’m fine, Mandy. Just a little peopled out, I guess,” Antoine made an excuse.

“It’s not like you. You’re usually the life of the party. But I get it, I’m actually just waiting for the cake to be served, so we can head home,” she admitted.

“For reals?” he perked up.

“Yeah, but we can’t leave just yet. That would be so rude. But come on, join us by the window. They’re having an interesting business discussion.”

screenshot-151-1

Antoine followed Amanda, only to be interrupted by a familiar face, who has grown tired of Josie’s company.

“Hi, babe. Missed me?”

screenshot-153-2

Ugh! Why now, he thought.

“What is it, ‘Lupe’? I mean, that’s obviously not your real name, is it?” he groaned.

“It’s as real as your ‘single’ status, isn’t it?” she smirked. “Does your lovely wife know your habit of picking up women at bars? Or is she blissfully unaware?”

“You and I both know I was drunker than a skunk that night,” Antoine frowned.

screenshot-157

“Oh, I don’t know about that. You spoke quite eloquently for a ‘drunk’ guy, if you ask me. And did a few other things quite well,” Maria grinned, giving him a once-over that made him feel like a piece of meat. “How do you think wifey would feel if she found out about our little rendezvous?”

“What do you want, Maria?” he asked growing wearier by the minute.

“Hmm, I don’t know, I haven’t decided yet.”

She enjoyed knowing she had this guy’s marital status in her hands.

“Well, decide what you will,” he glared, before storming off and heading to the bathroom before the urge to take another drink hit him.

screenshot-154

The moment she found herself free of Maria’s company, Josie made her way towards the bar.

This party sucked, but at least there was booze. She needed that. And also for this dumb evening to end, so she could go home and take a nap. She was feeling beat.

When she approached the bar, Anna finally realized why this woman looked familiar – this was her brother’s crazy ex! Of all the people she could run into today…

Clearly, Josie didn’t recognize her, but why would she? Anna only knew her from looking her up online, since Kevin had deleted all pictures of the woman from his social media. And Anna herself didn’t have much of an online presence.

screenshot-166-2

She wondered how to quietly tell Demarcus who this was without alerting Josie, but seeing another familiar face made her freeze.

Harvey Gritton. Rachel’s former boss and known killer.

screenshot-167

Or at least, known to her.

Shit! Rachel and Ashton were on the run. Because Rachel was a witness and oh no, Harvey had previously seen her with both of them.

Didn’t he? Sure, he was on the phone that evening and it was dark, but he might have remembered her face. He might make the connection…

screenshot-168-2

Anna hoped she could keep the most neutral expression on her face, but it seemed there was no need- Harvey was only interested in the drinks on the bar counter and didn’t even give the bartenders a second look.

She still couldn’t say she was relieved, but at least at the moment, it seemed she was safe.

And then again, what could possibly happen here? In a bar full of other people, who would be instant witnesses if something was to happen?

Besides, from her many years working at a bar, Anna was sure of one thing: Harvey was absolutely sloshed right now.

screenshot-169

To her major displeasure, Maria was back in her path once more.

“Drinking? You know that stuff ages you quickly, right? But I can understand – when your career isn’t going too well, the urge to drink is there.”

A bubble of laughter escaped from Josie.

“What’s so funny?” Maria frowned.

Alcohol was certainly unhealthy, but it sure could put some things into perspective, thought Josie.

screenshot-171

“Oh, you know. It’s just amusing. We’re at this fancy club, with all these fancy rich folks who you could be socializing with. And instead, you’re here, stuck to me like glue,” Josie grinned.

“Excuse you?!” Maria looked affronted.

“Oh, don’t deny it, hon. All this talk about me being entertaining on the set – you really like, me don’t you?” Josie smiled. It totally made sense. Why else would Maria hang around her this whole time? “But just as friends, right? I don’t really swing that way…”

“You fucking bitch!” Maria spat, but before she could add anything more to that, she found herself quickly falling forward.

Antoine, who had returned from the bathroom a little calmer than before, made sure to quickly walk behind Maria and give her an ever so slight shove that sent the high-heels-wearing woman toppling.

screenshot-176

Right into Josie, who also found herself toppling backwards, terrified as she hated losing her balance.

As she yelled and dropped her drink, she found herself caught by someone solid and strong right behind her.

screenshot-178-2

That bastard! Maria knew this was no accident and that Antoine did it on purpose.

But there he was, walking away like he was innocent.

Innocent, her ass.

She’ll get him for this. And that bitch Janis. She knew the woman saw everything. But the old biddy always had it out for her anyways.

They’ll see. They will all see what she was capable off yet.

But for now, Maria was done with this evening and company.

screenshot-181

“Oh my god! Thank you so much!” Josie thanked her savior. “How lucky for me that you were right behind me!”

“Well, I certainly wasn’t going to let you fall, not when I was right here,” Harvey shrugged. “I’m Harvey, by the way.”

“Josie. Delighted to meet you,” she gave him her most charming smile.

“The pleasure is all mine,” Harvey smiled and gave her hand a kiss. “And may I say, you are truly a sight for sore eyes.”

screenshot-182

Oh! Now this was getting interesting, thought Josie. And very pleasing indeed.

“You’re hardly bad to look at yourself,” she turned up the allure. “What brings you here?”

“My dad’s birthday,” he motioned towards the old man. “You?”

“Chandra’s my aunt.”

“Well, I see beauty runs in the family, then,” he complimented her. “What do you say we step outside for some air? It’s getting a little stuffy in here.”

“Oh, I’d love that,” she smiled.

Finally, something was going her way tonight!

screenshot-184

As the duo headed outside, they were met by Chandra who had stepped out of the room for only a few minutes.

Seeing the smiling couple, she realized she should not have stepped away even for a second.

“Harvey? Josie?”

“Hey, C, how come you’ve never told me you had such an adorable niece?” Harvey smiled, hugging Josie like they’ve known each other for ages.

“Oh, well…” Chandra stumbled on her words.

screenshot-185

“It turns out real gentlemen do exist after all, auntie. Harvey here just saved me from potentially getting a nasty injury, so we’re gonna go have a nice chat outside, alright? Toodles!” Josie beamed.

“Oh, yes… of course! You two have fun,” Chandra smiled weakly.

Sure, they seemed charmed with one another for now! But how long would it last?

The fallout from this would be of epic proportions, she knew, but at this point, there was nothing she could to stop them hanging out with one another that won’t make her look like the bad guy.

screenshot-180

As soon as Harvey left the room, Anna breathed a big sigh of relief.

“It’s ok, they’re gonna bring the cake out soon. Pretty sure we can head home afterwards,” Marcus told her. “It’s been a long night.”

“You haven’t even got a clue, man. Just wait until I fill you in on everything. But not tonight,” she promised.

screenshot-186-1

Chandra, who had also spent a lot of energy tonight, was already feeling a big headache settling in.

Approaching them, she asked, “What’s the strongest thing you guys have here. Make me three of those.”

“You got it,” Marcus got to making the drinks. “And hey, the party’s almost over.”

“Can’t wait until it is,” she grumbled. “I think I want to sleep for a week after today.”

screenshot-192
screenshot-193

“So, what brings you to Brooklyn Heights? Or have you lived here always?” Harvey asked when they were outside.

“I did live here before. But I moved to Starlight Shores for work, a year or two ago. It was a mixed result, though, so now I’m back,” Josie told him.

“Starlight Shores, yeah. Nice place, did some business there,” Harvey nodded.

“Oh? What sort of business do you do?” She wanted the deets.

screenshot-202

“I own a club,” he told her. “So, lots to do with that.”

“Sounds fun. I should visit sometime,” Josie said.

“Of course. What about you? What do you do?”

“Why, I’m an actress,” she told him.

“Nice. I’ve never dated an actress, heh,” Harvey chuckled. “You definitely have the looks for the job.”

“Oh, you are too sweet.”

screenshot-203

“I’m kind of surprised we’ve never met before,” Harvey told her. “Chandra and I went to school together and she’s always been close with our family. Something about her parents being good friends with my old man…”

“Well, it kind of looks like your old man has a good many friends,” Josie noted. “All these ladies seem very fond of him.”

“Oh, yes. I know. He was the it-guy in town when they were all younger and I suppose things haven’t really changed much,” Harvey nodded. “It’s kind of annoying, really. To see them all beating around him like schoolgirls. Especially after he picked my mom all those years ago.”

screenshot-204

“Well, some people have difficulty moving on from the object of their interest,” Josie nodded somberly.

Inside, they could hear the cake cutting start.

“Should we go back?” she asked.

“Do you want to?” he asked back.

“I don’t really care either way,” she admitted. “I did want another drink, but it’s a bit stuffy in there.”

“I agree. But you know what isn’t stuffy? My house. And I’ve got a full bar at my place.”

“Oh? Are you inviting?” she asked, hoisting a leg over his knee.

He smiled, knowing exactly what she was doing. He was totally into it.

“Fuck yeah, I am. Come on over, we’ll have a drink or two and see where the evening takes us.”

“Sounds like a lovely plan,” Josie smiled. “Lead the way.”

screenshot-205

As soon as the cake was served, Anna took it as her cue to leave.

She wasn’t going to stick around until the mobster got sobered up.

screenshot-208

Even as she left with no one watching her, she felt on edge the entire drive home, checking her area to make sure there weren’t any suspicious vehicles of people nearby.

screenshot-209

But seriously, of all the people to end up at this party, why did it have to be him?

screenshot-210

Jasper was asleep when she returned home, but he woke up as soon as she walked in.

“Hey! What’s wrong?” he instantly picked up on her nerves.

screenshot-212-2

“That moron was at the club. Rachel’s club owner,” she told him.

“Shit. Wait, but does he even know you?” he asked.

“I don’t know. He may have seen me with Rachel and Ashton once, but he was on the phone and it was dark.”

“Oh…”

“He was really drunk at the club, so I don’t think he recognized me. But it was creepy.”

“Damn… well, let’s hope he really was super drunk and won’t remember a thing from tonight.”

screenshot-211-1

“Hey, it’s gonna be ok. In any case, we’ve got Wyatt, Toya, and Jerri all at standby if anything goes south,” Jasper reassured Anna.

screenshot-214-1

“I really hope you’re right.” She half-laughed. “It was a long evening.”

“But it’s over now. You’re home and safe. I think we can rest easy for now.”

One response »

  1. Seeing Harvey was the last person she expected to see there. Now I wonder how long Harvey will put up with Josie not that Josie wouldn’t deserve a rude awakening but maybe not the kind Harvey might give her.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment