Witchy Days BC Ep 21: Suspicious Behavior

Posted on
screenshot-2

On the return ride home, Boris barely spoke, letting the others discuss everything. In his head, he was calculating to use the fact that Rodion thought he had the right collection to his advantage. For starters, he still didn’t know where it was. He should ask Gordon to show him.

Also, they were talking about a fairy-made magical object. So was Terra – what were the chances it was the same thing they were both after?

“What exactly was it you wanted to find in my collection?” he asked her once they arrived at their building and the others have gone up.

“I don’t actually know,” Terra admitted. “The fairy told me I’ll know it when I see it. According to her, she doesn’t know what it is either. I know, it sounds dumb.”

screenshot-3

“No, it doesn’t! I think those guys are after the same thing as you. And there was that break-in at Sage’s place, with her old teacher going through her stuff – he was looking for it as well, I’m sure.” A picture was forming in his head. If they didn’t know what they were looking for, it explained why they took the whole collection – it gave them time to go over everything.

“They already have it,” Terra grumbled. “How are we going to get it away from them?”

“Oh!” he has completely forgotten he never told her. “I’m so sorry, dear girl. I forgot to tell you – Gordon replaced the collection at the academy with duds before it was stolen.”

screenshot-5

“So, they have fakes?” she was astounded.

“That’s right. And they still haven’t realized it. Gordon has the collection somewhere safe. He suspected Rodion of wrongdoing for a while, apparently.”

“How long is it going to be safe?” she narrowed her eyes. “It was supposed to be safe at the academy.”

“I know. And I didn’t do my job well enough.”

Terra didn’t bother reassuring him of the opposite. “When can I see it? I assume you’re still going to let me?”

“I am. I just need to figure out how to get you to where it’s stored without attracting any unnecessary attention,” he promised.

Or without tipping off the potential spy in their midst, Terra thought. This would be worse.

screenshot-8

Coming off the elevator she walked right into Lawson.

“Oh, I’m so sorry!” she apologized, thinking the expression on his face was a little strange.

“It’s ok,” he told her distractedly. “Wow, you all look really cold. Frankie and Helena cooked some hot dinner, go fill up!”

“Sounds delicious,” she smiled and almost followed Boris into the apartment.

screenshot-9
screenshot-12

Something wasn’t right. And where the hell was Lawson going at this time of night?

She watched him walk into the elevator and hit the ground floor button. Without waiting, she decided to take the stairs down and see what he was up to. Making her curiosity skyrocket, the young man didn’t stay inside the building, but instead walked outside.

screenshot-14

Putting all thoughts of the delicious hot dinner out of her head, Terra followed. She knew she wasn’t that inconspicuous, but Lawson didn’t notice her. Instead, he kept on walking until he put some distance between himself and their building, at which point he whipped out a phone, dialing someone.

screenshot-18-1

“Hey! Sorry, I couldn’t call until now. It’s crazy with this move, everyone’s piled on top of one another, it seems. Nothing much is happening, but Boris seems convinced his house isn’t safe to stay in anymore. Not gonna lie, I think he’s right,” he told the person on the other end of the line. “No, we haven’t had any more murder attempts, I don’t think. Not since than night, at least. Yeah, I’m staying careful. I don’t know about the others, but I’m not too trusting of the others at the moment. Too much sketchiness, you know.”

Terra inched her way closer, trying to figure out if this was a call she needed to worry about or if he was just calling someone in his family. It wasn’t like one option made the other impossible.

“I do have some information on the theft, though,” he continued. “I just overheard Boris talking to Terra about it and apparently, the people who stole the collection got a fluke! Get this? He still has the right one somewhere. So yeah, that compass you’re talking off could still be here. Of course I’ll do my best to make sure it doesn’t disappear again. I promised, didn’t I? Well, once I can actually get it, that is.”

screenshot-22-1

Oh!!! Terra nearly screamed when she heard him utter those words. So, this was someone after the collection!

“Yeah, you’re right. It would be better for you to have it as soon as possible,” Lawson agreed with his conversation partner. “After all, it belongs to your family. And if some weirdos are after it, it would be safer with you, I hear you. I’ll do my best.”

screenshot-26

Terra wasn’t thinking. As soon as he ended the call, she jumped on him, ripping the phone from his hands.

“Who the hell was that?!!! Who are you talking to about Mr. Crimson’s collection? Huh?!”

“Woah! Hang on! Were you eavesdropping on me?!” he looked shocked.

“What did you think? And you still haven’t answered my question!” she yelled at him.

“I don’t owe you any answers, especially not when you attack me like this!” He looked affronted. “Besides, I was talking to a friend. Someone I’ve known for years. She means well. She’s worried about me and about what’s happening here.”

screenshot-25

“So, what does she want with Mr. Crimson’s collection, then?” she pushed on.

“There’s something from her family here. She doesn’t want it to fall into wrong hands. Can you blame her, with everything happening?” he explained.

“No, I can’t. But that doesn’t explain why you had to run from everyone to call her,” she called him out.

“Yeah, it does. Who knows what the others are up to? I told you, I think we have a spy in there. Maybe more than one!” he exclaimed.

screenshot-27

screenshot-30-2

She had no rebuttal for that. Of course, Lawson’s friend could be up to tricks as well.

“I know what you’re thinking,” he caught her line of thought. “No. Toris wouldn’t do it. She wouldn’t do something sketchy, that’s just not her.”

“Wait, Toris? Is that the name of the person you’ve been talking to?” she asked.

“It is. Why?”

“Fairy? Toris Pearson?”

“Yeah! How did you know?”

screenshot-32

“I know her,” Terra sighed. “So, she told you to look for a compass in Boris’s collection…” The fairy told her she didn’t know what the magical object was. So much for being on the straight and narrow with her.

“Yeah, it’s a family heirloom of sorts. She’s afraid of the wrong people getting their hands on it.”

“I see.” Well, she’ll be making a call to her as well! She had a few choice words for the fairy. Perhaps sending her over here looking for a mystery find was her way to get even for that rude summoning back in Appaloosa Plains? Terra didn’t care, she’ll let her have it.

“Now that we’ve hashed this out, can we go back to the apartment? It’s cold out here,” he complained.

“Yeah, I guess.”

screenshot-34-1

“What are you thinking about?” he asked as they walked back. “You seem annoyed. I’m sorry for making you think I was up to something. I didn’t mean to.”

“I get that you didn’t. But she did.”

“Did what?” he asked in confusion.

“If Toris has a friend here, why didn’t she tell me?” Terra grumbled.

“Oh, that? Yeah, it could’ve saved us both a lot of confusion. I mean, she never mentioned you two knew each other to me either. But hey, fairies, right? They’re like that.”

“Are they? I don’t know. She always seemed pretty straightforward, for the most part. And kind of responsible,” Terra argued. 

“She is responsible. But I think fairies, even ones in positions like hers, all have that habit of pulling pranks and enjoy confusing those who aren’t fairies. Doesn’t make them evil. That’s just how they are.”

screenshot-36

Lawson seemed to accept this sort of behavior as something that was just the norm for people he grew up with, which made sense. Terra, however, was used to more direct dealings and didn’t enjoy having her leg pulled by someone she asked for help. She’ll have to make this very clear when she next spoke with the fairy.

Crossing the road, she couldn’t help but glance at the big penthouse building across from theirs.

“We’ve been keeping an eye on the place,” Lawson caught her eye. “We all took turns while you guys were out. No sketchy comings and goings so far.”

“They’re busy, no doubt. I’m sure they’re looking for the same thing as us,” she admitted. 

“But they don’t have it, right? And they are bound to realize that eventually?”

“Yes, I suppose it’s a matter of time.”

screenshot-37-1

“You want to sit for a bit?” he offered. “It’s cold, but no one’s breathing down your neck.”

“It is weird around the house right now,” she understood.

“No kidding,” he sighed. “With Chris and Tobias gone, it’s kind of like the most neurotic of us are left here. Not to say we’re always all neurotic, but right now we are. I mean, Atherton’s kind of moping around and who can blame him? I’d do the same. Then, Helena’s stomping around like someone made her eat rotten food. Matt and Sam are trying to keep her company like things are normal, but it’s all getting to them as well. Frankie’s being Frankie and Polina… well, I get why she’s upset, not gonna lie. I would be too, if they were my family.”

“She was really upset earlier. I should probably go keep her company,” Terra felt a bit guilty for not being there for the girl, but she did insist on going with them. “They were there, you know. At their old house, plotting against Boris and all of us.” 

screenshot-48

“Her parents? I guess she got that band-aid ripped off pretty fast. That’s good, though. It’s worse to keep on being lied to. Now that she knows, she can start getting over it.” 

He had a point.

“I hope so. She might not have much time to get over it if they realize they have a fluke and come back looking for the real thing,” Terra frowned.

“They might do that,” he agreed. “Then again, it might be a dumb plan for them to bank on the item being here. And for us as well, to be honest.”

“How so?” she asked.

“Well, from what Toris told me, the compass is supposedly in Boris’s collection because it’s not at the Crimson manor in Moonlight Falls and not in Boris’s cousin’s house – your teacher, right?” When Terra nodded, he continued. “They all assume it has to be here because Boris is this meticulous and responsible educator, all for the students, good guy all around… but he’s literally the opposite of his old man. And that guy, from common knowledge, only wanted those magical items because he could make some money to fund whatever crap he had going on at any moment. Um, don’t let Boris hear me talk like that about his old man, but come on, by all accounts, that guy was a disaster.”

screenshot-65

“So, what are you saying?” she felt her hopes getting damper by the moment.

“I promised Toris I’ll look for her heirloom, but realistically, it might’ve left the Stoneshields before any of us were born,” he chuckled. “It could be anywhere!”

As much as she hated to admit it, he was right. She even remembered Sage mentioning her troublesome uncle and his behavior. The compass – and only key to finding her brother – could be anywhere else but here.

screenshot-75-1

Once they came back, the others were all asleep. Terra was glad of that. After a quick (and cold) meal, she headed to the bedroom.

The girls were asleep and she thought Polina’s face looked a bit puffy. In any case, she was just glad the girls could get some rest. Her mind was racing after the talk with Lawson. What if he was right and her visit here was for nothing?

screenshot-76

At the same time, the collection Boris had was still fairly sizable. The compass could be here.

In any case, she’ll have to keep thinking positively while she could.

2 responses »

  1. So is the compass the same item Terra is looking for or is it different? I really want to know who the mole is. Frankie was acting suspicious a few chapters ago but I don’t want to think it’s him!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a comment