Waves and Riptides S2. 13: A Happy Childhood Memory

Posted on

tumblr_pg63we9wbw1te48yuo1_500tumblr_pg63we9wbw1te48yuo2_500tumblr_pg63we9wbw1te48yuo3_500

Jeremy: They’re really faded. I wonder if there’s some way to have them digitally altered and restored. I know it can be done, these days.

Sol: I think I could work on them on the computer. We have a pretty neat photo-editing software installed. This is wild. Grandma and Grandpa are younger than you and Mom here. Time sure flies.

Jeremy, sadly: I know. She was still healthy, before the heart disease got her. I remember she would play for hours, everything from mazurkas to chorals.

Hillary: Your parents are really beautiful. But wait, which one of you is which? You two looked way more alike as kids.

Thomas laughs: That we did! I’m the one in the green t-shirt. You can already see the attitude. Jerry was always the calmer one.

Jeremy: I remember it would drive Dad nuts! He would be angry over something I did and I’d just apologize without any back thought. And he would say, “well, if you knew you weren’t supposed to do it, why didn’t you stop before you did it!”

Thomas: He did say that quite often. To me, as well. I miss them. Hey, I wonder whatever happened to that train set.

Jeremy: They gave it to us just the day these pictures were taken, didn’t they? I remember that day now… Grandpa was still with us, too.


tumblr_pg64dplt9n1te48yuo1_1280

Thomas: This train set is the coolest thing ever! It’s supposed to be modeled after the real-life Sunset Valley, did you know that?

Jeremy: It’s not completely accurate, then.

Thomas: Oh, come on! Look at the level of detail!

Jeremy: I suppose it’s pretty neat for a recreation. I wonder when Grandpa’s going to get here.

Thomas: I hope it’s soon. He always tells the best stories! I wish I could be a sailor, like him. Then, I could sail the world and see all the cool places and people, just like him.

Jeremy: Me too. I wish Mom wasn’t so scared of letting us go boating with him.

Thomas: She thinks it’s not safe and that he’s too old to properly operate a boat. But I know he’s not. He’s livelier than all of us.

Jeremy: And he tells really good jokes. Almost better than Mom – don’t tell her I said that!

tumblr_pg64wkr3uh1te48yuo1_500

Sabrina: I don’t know what excites those two more – the train station or the prospect of seeing their Grandpa? You know, he should visit more often. I mean, surely, he’s got some time now, being retired.

Robert laughs, knowingly.

– Well, you know my old man, he’s got a million friends all over the place. I can never catch him at home when I call, and even if he’s there, he’s got company. He may be old, but he’s still the life of every party! I really hope we can be like that when we’re his age.

Sabrina: You aren’t still angry at him, are you? I know he wasn’t home as much as you would’ve wanted him to be when you were growing up.

Robert sighs. His wife’s words have certain truth to them.

– Not any longer. But when I was younger, I was. He always made sure Mom and I had money and food on the table. He didn’t throw his income on trinkets and entertainment the way many of his mates did. But sometimes, it really would’ve been nice to have my father home, instead of sailing the seven seas. But I don’t think he could stay home. That just wasn’t his nature. Much as he loved our family, he always needed to be out at sea. It lured him worse than any siren.

Sabrina: I wonder what that’s like. I can’t even go near a boat without feeling dizzy. Living on one for months sounds like a perfect nightmare.

tumblr_pg64wkr3uh1te48yuo2_500

Robert: I know, honey. I know! I still remember how terrified you were when I tried to propose to you on that boat!

Sabrina: Not my most graceful moment…

Robert: All your moments are graceful, beauty.

Sabrina: Hmm? What are we having today, King of the Kitchen?

Robert: Just some ratatouille. I know you love it.

tumblr_pg657abzwv1te48yuo1_1280

Sabrina: You are the sweetest man ever!

Robert: Am I, now? So that’s how one gets a compliment from you – by making your favorite dishes?

He picks her up, eliciting a surprised little yelp.

Sabrina: Stop! You’ll wrinkle your shirt!

Robert: A small price to pay for one of your sweet kisses.

Sabrina, pulling out of their long kiss, laughing: You are such a romantic. What would I do without you?

Robert: I guess, you’ll have to find someone else who can cook a ratatouille as magnificent as this one. And that is no small feat, trust me!

Sabrina: Silly… Oh, your father is here, it seems. I can hear them laughing at something already. I should go say hi.

Robert: Go on, I’ll join you in a bit.

tumblr_pg7xf2grff1te48yuo1_1280

Neal: “… and Lenny, sick and feverish, ended up having to steer the boat all night long, because Joe and Sam were passed out drunk from the rum they pilfered back at the bar. You should’a seen Cap when he found out – the guy was so angry he looked like a red tomato! And would you believe it, Joe and Sam weren’t fired after this stunt? As someone later reminded the captain, he’s done the same thing when he was younger… That’s sea life for you, kids.”

Jeremy: Whoa, how did he become the captain, then? That sounds kind of irresponsible.

Thomas: I agree. I wouldn’t want a guy with tendencies to drink and pass out to be in command of a ship.

Neal: Ah, he wasn’t really irresponsible. This man knew the sea better than the palm of his own hand. And then some… Although, he did have one major quirk: never met a more superstitious person. Now, every seaman has a few superstitions, but this guy took it all to heart. I admit, sometimes it came in handy, like the time he made us dock the ship because he didn’t like how red the sky looked that morning- we ended up avoiding a storm that took out three major ships. But there were plenty of stranger instances. Like the time he became obsessed with protecting us from mermaids, heh, heh!

Thomas: That’s funny.

Jeremy: So, what did he do? And why?

Neal laughs.

– Well, a couple of the boys said they saw a beautiful woman with a fish’s tail swimming near the boat. Now, you’ve got to remember that we’ve been out to sea for over a month by then, and the boys were getting, um, restless, yeah, let’s put it that way. You’ll understand when you’re older. And if I recall correctly, the boys in question were Joe and Sam, who, as we’ve already established, were fond of the drink. But Cap? He made us go see some crazy charlatan who “performed a protection spell” on every one of us sailors. Said it’ll even protect our families too, in the long run. A big load of crock, if you ask me. And it cost quite a bit too, if I remember well. The money would’ve been better spent making sure the boys stayed away from hard spirits, but you know Cap, he was a superstitious one.

Jeremy: But that means he cared for you all, right?

Neal: That he did, Jerry, that he did. He was a good man, a good sailor, and he treated us all like brothers.

Thomas: Where is he now?

Neal saddens: Not with us an longer, unfortunately. He was older than me by almost three decades.

tumblr_pg7ywmwyru1te48yuo1_1280

Jeremy: Do you still keep in touch with your old crew?

Neal nods: Yes. With the ones who are still around, at least. When you sail with people for months and years on the same ship, you become like a family to each other.

Thomas: I think I’d like to be a sailor when I’m older.

Neal: You could do that, dear. Although, sailing ain’t quite what it used to be, these days. Everything is so much more modern, the boats are faster, more efficient. Which is nice, in a way. Makes things safer and easier. But you don’t build as close a rapport with the sea, with all the new technology around.

He chuckles.

– I just sound like a grumpy old man, now. I guess I’m just feeling nostalgic for the days of my own youth.

Sabrina, entering the room: Hello, Neal. How are you all getting along? The boys aren’t too enthusiastic, are they?

Neal: Not at all, lovey, they are the best behaved kids ever. And they are wonderful listeners!

Jeremy: We love your stories, Grandpa.

Thomas: They are the best

tumblr_pg7yx4qsnq1te48yuo1_1280

Sabrina: You do have a way with the boys, Neal. You really should visit us more often.

Neal: You know what? I’ll try, dear.

Thomas and Jeremy: Yay!!!

Thomas: Will you take us out on your boat sometime, Grandpa?

Jeremy: Please?

Neal: Well, that’s up to your parents, kiddos.

Sabrina: I’ll consider it.

Robert, joining the room: Dinner is ready, everyone! I hope you’re hungry.

Neal: Oh, yes! My stomach is already rumbling louder than I speak!

tumblr_pg7yxnla9l1te48yuo1_500

Sabrina: I have to say, you’ve outdone yourself today – this ratatouille is a masterpiece.

Neal: I agree. I don’t know where you got your cooking skills, as neither your mother nor I were that good in the kitchen. But I’m very glad you have them. Your dishes always leave me speechless.

Robert: Why, thank you. Years of culinary school would do that, though.

Jeremy and Thomas: Thanks, Dad!

Sabrina: I’ve been thinking. The boys have been so eager to go boating with their grandfather – I think we should let them. But you have to promise to watch them like a hawk, Neal. I mean it.

Neal: They’ll be safer with me than with the entire SimLau police force, dear. I promise.

Jeremy: Yes!

Thomas: Finally!

Jeremy: Dad, I’m done with my food. Can I go play now?

Robert: Actually, wait a bit. I want to try out that new camera while the light is still good. Who’s up for pictures?

tumblr_pg7yxnla9l1te48yuo2_r1_500

tumblr_pg7yypinhb1te48yuo1_500

Robert: The lighting is good, the lens is properly adjusted, all set? Smile!

He snaps the photo.

Robert: That’s a good one, for posterity!

tumblr_pg7yypinhb1te48yuo2_r1_500tumblr_pg7yzo1pwr1te48yuo2_r1_500

Sabrina comes out to watch. She smiles, seeing her husband with their boys.

– How’s the new camera? Is the quality good?

Robert: It sure is!

Sabrina: If your photography is going to be as good as your cooking, you’re going to amaze all of us once more.

Robert: I do love creating good things. But the best thing in my life is completely outside of my doing.

He winks at her, and Sabrina laughs, leaning in for a kiss.

Neal: Ay, we’re sailing into romantic waters, aren’t we? Let me take a look at this new camera of yours.

He quickly snaps a picture of his son and daughter-in-law, before making a few more of the boys.

tumblr_pg7yzo1pwr1te48yuo1_r1_500

Thomas: Our parents are always so into each other.

Jeremy: Yeah, but that’s a good thing. I hope they always behave like that.

Leave a comment