Witchy Days 3: Daily Grind

Posted on
screenshot-3

A regular mealtime in the Aramis-Sidheins household. Matt’s feeling a bit unused to such lively animation and so many people present this early in the morning, but he better get used to it, if he’s with Terra.

On the bright side, breakfast is never boring.

screenshot-4
screenshot-7-1

“Well, someone’s looking mighty happy!” Bristol observed when Terra came into the living room after breakfast. “Slept well?”

“Yeah, we didn’t wake you up with our talk, did we?” She asked.

“Only for a minute or two. I just went right back to sleep. You could say, you two had the room to yourselves,” he winked.

“Right,” she let it slide. Matt was upstairs showering and she promised to take him to Aleister’s afterwards. This would be nice, seeing as they’ll get some proper privacy. She adored her family, but they could be a lot at times. “What are your plans for the day?”

“Meet up with Lakeisha. Maybe check some house listings.”

“Is Sage taking you around today?” Sylvia joined them. “Bring me along when you pick something. There are often defects in homes that aren’t obvious unless you know what you’re looking for.”

screenshot-10-1

“Hear, hear,” Bristol agreed. “It’s all good. We also don’t want something super pricy and high maintenance.”

“Oh, I know what you mean,” Terra nodded. “Boris had that huge house and there was so much to do in there all the time.”

“A lesson many people tend to learn too late,” her mother chuckled. “So, how are things with Matthew?”

“They’re good,” Terra smiled. “I’m still amazed he came all the way here without any warning, but I’m happy. Even though, his mother probably won’t be.”

“He’s an adult,” Sylvia shrugged. “Grownups sometimes travel to see other grownups. So did you properly catch up?”

screenshot-14-1

Bristol and Xander, who just joined them, both snorted at the question, making Terra roll her eyes. There is was, all that curiosity. Of course, her mother never shied away from such talks, but considering how new her relationship was, she was in no way ok with discussing such matters – with them or with anyone.

“Yeah, totally. We ‘caught up’. With Bristol sleeping right next to us, you and Dad right behind the wall, and this guy,” she pointed at Xander, “most likely behind the wall with a stethoscope, trying to listen in.”

“Lol, nope,” Xander laughed. “At least because I don’t own a stethoscope.”

“Very funny, Xander,” Sylvia shook her head. This boy’s had one thing on the brain, lately. She turned back to her daughter. “But really, if you two need privacy or anything, never fear.”

screenshot-18

“Thanks, Mom. We’re still figuring everything out, though. He’s going to stay with Nellie for the time being, he only stayed over because it was so late.”

“Of course. By the way, what did you think of your gift?” Sylvia reminded her.

“It’s very lacy,” Terra told her. “Thanks, Mom, but I am more than capable of buying my own sleepwear.”

“I know. But it was just your color. I thought you’d like it,” her mother explained. “You haven’t even tried it on, have you?”

“Well, it’s really not me,” Terra apologized.

screenshot-15

“Seriously?” Xander snorted. “Even Laurel has cute lingerie, and she doesn’t even like things like that.”

“She doesn’t!?” Bristol laughed. “Could’ve fooled me, she’s always seemed really into cute fashions and stuff. I thought she was all over things like that. Unlike Terra here.”

“Excuse you?” she glared at her brothers. “Are you saying I have no fashion sense?”

“No!” Bristol hurried to correct himself. “You just chose clothes due to how practical and comfortable they are, rather than for their sex appeal… usually…which isn’t bad! They are very you”

Terra considered his words. He had a point, she did do that. She really wasn’t so sure why this rubbed her the wrong way.

screenshot-16-1

“Alright, I’ll try it on. Once. When you see how bad it looks on me, you’ll see why I don’t buy that stuff.”

“Take a pic for history,” Sylvia laughed.

screenshot-21-1

She felt weird just grabbing the bag from behind her wardrobe and pulling the item out. Just as she had initially appraised, it was very lacy and very… stringy. 

And it definitely wasn’t her. Even though, she had to admit, her mother’s taste in such things was pretty impeccable. 

She took a good look in the mirror. It wasn’t that she hated how it looked. On anyone else, she would’ve said it was a good piece of lingerie. So, what was the deal? 

screenshot-23-1

She wasn’t sure she was going to like the answer to that question.

As it happened, she didn’t have to ponder the inner workings of her mind because her privacy was interrupted by Matt running in, looking harried.

“Hey, did you see where I put my…” he managed to get out before noticing her clothes, or rather the lack of them. “Oh, I’m…!”

“It’s not what it looks like!”

screenshot-24-1

“Um, ok? Wait, what is it supposed to look like?” he asked carefully. 

“I don’t know,” she sighed. “I’m not trying to pull some weird seduction skit on you or sext anyone. This was Mom’s holiday gift to me. I’m just trying it on to show her what it looks like.”

“Well, she’ll be satisfied, I think,” he nodded. “It looks really good on you.”

“What?”

screenshot-25-1

“Wait, was I supposed to say it looks bad? Like, a test or something?” he asked in confusion. “I mean I just told the truth…”

“No, no, it wasn’t a test… I didn’t realize you were going to come in.”

“Sorry. I’ll go, I was just looking for my bag. Actually, I should’ve knocked.”

screenshot-28

“It’s cool. And sorry about any awkwardness. I can take you to Aleister’s, just give me a few moments to get dressed.”

“Ha, ha, no awkwardness, don’t worry. See you downstairs,” he smiled and walked out, moving a little funny, in Terra’s opinion.

Oh… Oh!!!

There definitely was going to be some awkwardness today, she thought, stifling a small laugh.

screenshot-31

And you know what? Maybe she wouldn’t be tossing this thing just yet.


 

screenshot-33

The earlier moment shelved for the time being, the two of them drove into town.

“I’ve only been there once so far,” Terra told him. “On Sage’s recommendation. She said that I could buy some potion supplies while my own garden was coming in. Quaint place.”

“What about the owner?”

“Mr. Aleister. He seemed nice but a little hassled. He was on the phone for the majority of the time I perused the available supplies. Kind of sounded like it was a family call. Well, here we are.”

screenshot-37

As usual, the fire place burned nicely and heated the store, a welcome thing in this weather. Mr. Aleister instantly recognized Terra.

“Hello, hello! Come in. What would you need today?” he greeted in his normal friendly salesman voice. “By the way, how is Addie?”

“Hi, Mr. Aleister. Addie’s doing well. I’m just brought Matthew along,” she replied.

“Hello, sir. I believe we’ve talked on the phone. Matthew Niers, it’s a pleasure to meet you,” Matthew extended his hand forward and Mr. Aleister happily shook it.

“Matthew, yes! I remember! I was afraid you’ve decided not to come here and I am really in need of an assistant.”

screenshot-42-1

“No worries, I keep my word. When can I start?” he asked.

“When can you? How does tomorrow sound? Even today would be good, but the day is half done, so it wouldn’t feel right starting out like this,” Mr. Aleister told him, sounding extremely eager. 

“That’s great!” Matthew smiled. “I can totally start tomorrow. What are my duties?”

“Helping me with the cleanup here, making potions when possible, taking care of customers when I’m unable to. It gets busy in here on weekdays.”

screenshot-54-1

“How come you haven’t hired someone already?” Terra blurted out. “Sorry.”

“Oh, I did, but the guy who worked here previously quit on super short notice and I’ve been running around like a startled rabbit ever since.”

screenshot-58-1

“Dad, are you going to be open much longer?” the girl sitting in the rocking chair interrupted. “We’re going to be late.”

“Coming, dear!” Mr. Aleister reassured her. “This is my daughter Elspeth. She helps out around the store too, sometimes.”

“Yeah, ‘cause most of the hired people tend to flake out,” she complained.

“Well, I won’t,” Matthew reassured her. “I take my duties seriously, whether it’s for school or work.”

“Good to hear,” the young woman smiled. “So, have you gotten the tickets to see it?”

“What exactly?” Terra asked.

screenshot-65

“There’s a band playing at the concert hall tonight. They’re really good.”

“And we’re all going to see it,” Mr. Aleister explained. “Family outing.”

“You should too,” Elspeth insisted.

“Thanks, but I haven’t even heard of a concert happening today,” Terra excused herself.

“And I just arrived in town yesterday. I’m still settling in,” Matthew added, also not very eager to attend any sudden concerts. “But enjoy your evening.”

“Oh, I will!” the young woman told them.

screenshot-70

“Well, congratulations,” Terra smiled, while Mr. Aleister closed up the shop. “You are officially employed now.”

“It’s a good feeling,” he agreed. “So, since the evening is free, what would you like to do?”

“Want to check out the coffee shop? Those chairs are so comfy.”

“And good for cuddling,” he winked. “Let’s go.”

screenshot-71-2

Meanwhile, Sage has taken the young couple to look around some properties.

“Is it ok that it’s already dark?” Lakeisha asked. “Isn’t it better to check a place during daytime?”

“It’s fine. This way, you get to observe how the lighting situation in there stands,” Sage shrugged. “This one is still owned, but the Singhs are planning to move. Something about getting better pay at a hospital elsewhere. Anyways, they’ve allowed interested people to take a look around the house.”

“And we are interested.”

screenshot-75-1

“Not bad, not bad,” Bristol approved. “Of course, they’ll take a bunch of the furniture with them, but the layout is good.”

“A little too good,” Lakeisha frowned. “How much is this place?”

“Let’s see,” Sage checked the information she had about the house. “About 160k.”

“Oof!” Lakeisha’s eyes grew big. “No way.”

“It’s true, there’s no way we can afford it,” Bristol admitted. He just started as a tech at the local concert hall recently and the pay, even with his parents’ help, was nowhere near good enough for that kind of price.

“Oh, what sort of a price are you looking for?” Sage asked. “So I can get a clearer picture of what to look for.”

“Under a hundred,” Bristol stated.

“More like, under 60 thousand!” Lakeisha reminded him. “We’re going to have extra expenses soon.”

“Yes, absolutely. Do you think we can find something within that range?” he asked Sage.

“Oh, I’m sure of it. But that does mean we won’t be looking at our second pick for today. It’s within the same price range as this one,” she apologized.

screenshot-88-1

“Thanks for suggesting we come here,” Matthew leaned back after they finished their drinks. “It’s nice here.”

“Of course. I figured we won’t have too much time soon. I’m starting work next week too, so…”

“Yeah, all about living in the real world,” he nodded. “But having your own income is kind of priceless. Say, was that weird or what? Mr. Aleister thinking that I would bail when I already told him I was ready to work at the shop?”

“If his former employee bailed on him, I guess he’s expecting the worst,” Terra supposed. “I wonder why it took him this long to find a replacement, though.”

“I don’t know. The pay seems decent, the duties are pretty clear, and making potions is something I’m pretty good at. Plus, I had a part-time job in high-school, so I know how to interact with customers ” Matt shrugged. “Maybe the hours turn out bad?”

screenshot-89

“What would you do if the job turns out less great than it seems?” Terra asked. 

“Define ‘less great’. But for real, as long as it’s not something ridiculous or dangerous, I don’t see how a simple shop job can be that bad,” he laughed.

“But you’ll tell me? So I can help, if needed?” she asked.

“Yeah, I’ll probably complain about it if something sucks,” he admitted. “You’ll get tired of me talking about it, you’ll see.”

“I won’t,” she promised. Familiar voices came within her hearing.

“Your brother’s here and he and his companions seem to be in a mood.”

screenshot-87-2

“I wonder why,” Terra observed them, waving to the group.

They waved back. 

“Probably has to do with house hunting,” Matthew guessed. “The real estate market is always wild.”

“You’re not wrong. And that’s kind of sad.”

“Want to dance?”

screenshot-92-1

“Don’t worry, you two, I’ve already found a nice listing. We can take a look at it first thing tomorrow,” Sage promised.

“Thank you, Sage. It’s really nice to have someone guide us through this,” Bristol admitted.

“Especially someone who knows this area,” Lakeisha added.

“Well, I wouldn’t say I really know it. I’ve only been back for a couple of months.” Sage bit into her apple. It was strange, really. She’s known these kids since before they were born and yet, here they were, one on a date and the other about to become a father. All grown up. It made her feel old.

screenshot-91

“You still know it better than we do,” Lakeisha leaned into Bristol’s hug. She wasn’t that far along yet, but being out and about was already kind of weird. She could feel the bump growing and knew that the little one was getting bigger each day – it was scary. But also exciting. And tiring. She could use all the hugs she could get and she was already way more emotional than usual. “You can probably tell if something’s wrong.”

“I hope so,” Sage told her. “I do have some experience buying homes.”

screenshot-97

“We certainly couldn’t do this over the phone,” he smiled as they swayed to the sweet tune coming out of the stereo. “Totally worth the trip.”

screenshot-99

“Do you always sweet talk girls like this?” she asked.

“Only in rare and special cases, dear.”

♫♪♫

screenshot-114

Spending time together at the fairgrounds after hours.

screenshot-115
screenshot-116
screenshot-117
screenshot-119

“Hey, what’s up? What are you cooking for? There’s plenty of stuff in the fridge,” Terra asked when she got home after dropping Matt off at Nellie’s.

“Yeah, but I want to. I need all the cooking practice in the world, let’s be honest.”

“Also a good point,” she agreed. “So how did house hunting go?”

“We’ll probably find something by the time our kid is 18,” he grimaced. “Sucks. I really want all the best for Lakeisha and the kiddo.”

screenshot-120

“I know you do. Don’t worry, you’ll find something. The housing market can’t be that bad.”

“Let’s hope you’re right. Want to come with us tomorrow? I’d love your input on this.”

“Of course! I’d like to check out the places you’re looking at.”

2 responses »

  1. Mathew better get used to Terra’s family if he hopes to survive the experience XD

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a comment