Barron and Sylvia 44: Strange Allies

This part comes after Chapter 31 of Witchy Days BC.

screenshot-37-2

Sylvia found Barron looking wistfully out the window, a small smile playing on his lips. Hearing her approach, he turned around, grinning.

“Hey, it’s snowing.”

“Stating the obvious, much?”

“Maybe,” he agreed, a playful look in his eyes. “Just remembering our first snow together.”

screenshot-42-1

“You don’t say!” she laughed. “I really can’t stay ♪♫”

“Baby it’s cold outside ♪♫!” he finished.

“I still can’t believe you wooed me with that silly song,” she recalled that crazy evening, when Bridgeport was in the middle on a huge blizzard. She spent time with Barron earlier and when it was time to go home, weather conditions made a trip across the city plainly unsafe. She would’ve taken the chance anyways, but somehow, staying over for one night turned into staying over for the entire week. “You know, I think that blizzard was a big part of why I ended up staying with you in Appaloosa Plains afterwards, when I had to lay low. I figured you were someone I’d be compatible sharing living space with.”

screenshot-52-1

“I’d say, we’re compatible in a little bit more than just living together,” he smirked. 

Of course, she’d never forget how clothes-optional that week-long stay with him was – and of course, that was another big factor why they were compatible.

screenshot-51

“You silly man,” she leaned in for a kiss. “You should stop distracting me. There are people waiting for us after all.”

screenshot-40
screenshot-46-1

“The Fairchilds, right?” Barron nodded. “I remember. I was just fooling around. You looked like you could use some cheering up.”

“You’re not wrong,” Sylvia admitted. “I just talked to Terra. Things aren’t going so well over there. She said that jerk they’re dealing with kidnapped several people and wants something from them – something they don’t have. She said I gave her some interesting idea, but…”

“You’re worried,” he understood. 

“Worried? If it was up to me, I’d be on the first available flight to the Stoneshields myself, if only so I could kick in the face of anyone who wants to hurt Terra and these kids. What sort of a sick moron kidnaps their own students?!”

screenshot-50

“That kind. And I feel you. But how can we help? It’s not like we have the item – what is it, anyways?”

“Some compass,” Sylvia grimaced. “You know, all this magic stuff is far more trouble than it’s worth. I hate being this useless.”

“You’re not,” he smiled. “Trust me, you’re not useless. We’re just out of our depth. I’m ready to go if you are. I wonder what Nellie can tell us.”

screenshot-53

“Hello! We were just waiting for you,” Carly greeted them. “The boys are getting impatient.”

Inside, they found everyone pacing around, talking, and generally being antsy. Barron got the impression that the house was not normally this full or lively and everyone present was still sort of figuring out cohabitation.

Of course, Nellie looked like she was on top of her game, as usual.

screenshot-57-1

“Make yourselves comfortable, Barron, Sylvia, kids. I’ll be right back, I’ll check on Dahlia’s cooking, the girl is not used to this old stove at all…”

“So, how do you like Moonlight Falls so far?” Jordan tried to make small talk. “I know it can be a big change from what you’re used to.”

“That’s one way to put it,” Barron agreed. “At least we’ve got family here.”

screenshot-56

“Oh, I know. Isn’t Addie simply the best? She always gives amazing advice,” Jordan agreed.

Barron glanced over to Chris, who was busy scanning the house for anything to go wrong. The guy seemed to be pleased when he spotted Sylvia, though. They reached some sort of a comradery during their previous visit. 

screenshot-59

“About last time,” Chris started. “I thought it all over, and maybe involving you in this isn’t the best idea. You’re human and-”

“- and I can take care of myself,” Sylvia shut that down fast. “Come to think of it, I wouldn’t be surprised if I had some run-ins with that coven you talk off. There were a few times when I found myself interacting with some unusual Bridgeporteans and I’d usually attribute it to general weirdness and eccentricity, but maybe they were vampires.”

“Like, they were too pale, wouldn’t come out in the daylight, and behaved in a predatory way?” Chris specified. “Wouldn’t you notice that?”

Sylvia considered it and nodded. “Oh yeah, then I definitely interacted with some vampires. And all I can say is, back in those days, I was doing my best to pretend the supernatural was all a fairytale. Don’t judge, cool? I had my reasons.”

screenshot-63

“And now you’re surrounded by a bunch of wizards and witches and your kids are among their number?” Tobias noted.

“Life can change real quickly, kid,” Sylvia chuckled. “But I have a lot of connections in Bridgeport. I can put out some feelers for any information they might’ve gathered.”

“They would gather info on vampires?” Tobias was incredulous. “What kind of connections do you have?”

“Let’s just say, they’re the type who do business with whoever pays well. But they would have a sharper eye for these things than I did, back in my Bridgeport days.”

“I would be grateful for any info they could get. As long as long as you think it’s safe enough. I don’t want to put your family or friends in danger,” Chris told her.

screenshot-66

“Put in danger? What are you two talking about?” Dahlia joined the conversation.

“I offered to ask my Bridgeport acquaintances to keep their eye and ear open for anything related to the Bridgeport vampire coven,” Sylvia explained, making the girl’s eyes grow wide.

“What!? That’s super unsafe! Those people have no qualms about anything. Literally anything!” Dahlia was in shock.

“That’s quite alright,” Sylvia reassured her. “We’re not outright attacking anyone.” Yet. From what Chris told her, the coven wasn’t something she wanted to continue existing, especially not if they had so little problem trying to kill anyone who went against them. “We’re just gathering information. If these people are dangerous to you, wouldn’t you rather be informed of their movements?”

“Oh,” Dahlia looked down. Sylvia made a lot of sense here. She would sleep better if she knew what to expect. She was tired of having to live on the run.

“You don’t have to say anything about it. We’re still just making very tentative plans.”

screenshot-72-1

“I’m here,” Barron reminded her. “I’d like to help too.”

“Of course, dear,” Sylvia smiled. She noticed Chris all the way at the other side of the room, scanning the area outside the house. He was always on edge, just like Dahlia. Tobias seemed better, but he was also careful. 

Details like these were why she wanted to help with this threat. They were kids – they didn’t deserve to deal with something like this looming over them.

screenshot-76-1

“So, are you supposed to keep in touch with Boris?” Barron asked to distract the guy from his bad mood. “Like, write letters, call?”

“Well, he knows we’re here. And that Mrs. Fairchild’s looking after us,” Chris told him. “I have a feeling he’s pretty busy over there. My friend usually texts me with updates, but he hasn’t in a couple of days.” 

Barron wondered if the friend was the same guy Terra told them got kidnapped. Perhaps, it was a good idea not to mention it to Chris. “From what Terra tells us, it is pretty hectic.”

“Well, things are hectic here too. The entire community is in a tizzy after what we’ve been learning about the Stoneshields,” Carly looked at them. “That’s a good thing, though. That place was in need of a serious intervention ages ago.“

“Yeah…” Chris sighed. “That’s one way to put it.”

screenshot-81

He and Dahlia made awkward eye contact, a fact caught by Sylvia as she forced herself to suppress a smirk. Ah, so she wasn’t seeing things when she thought she saw them checking out each other’s butts the other day. Kids and their need to complicate everything… when she had issues with attraction towards a person she didn’t like, she usually got over it by sleeping with them and moving on with her life. As for Barron, attraction usually won over any dislike, thus solving that problem for him.

They both looked forward to seeing how this will play out, but their attention was distracted by a new knock on the door.

“Oh no!” Dahlia looked in that direction, bristling.  Similarly, Chris was already starring daggers at the door.

screenshot-82-1

“This is the place?”

“It is. They’re all witches and wizards here, so be prepared.”

screenshot-85

“I’ll get it!” Nellie approached the door. 

“No! This is a bad idea!” Chris hurried to intercept her. “I’m sure it’s vampires”

“Could be,” she shrugged. “Don’t worry, this house has enough spells on it to blow away anyone who’s here with ill wishes.”

“But!”

“Let’s see what this is about,” she opened the door. “Hello, and you are?”

“Hi, I’m Leanna and this is Vlad. We’re looking for Nellie? Nellie Fairchild?” the female vampire started, but Chris was ready to jump into action.

“Don’t even talk to them. That’s how they get people into their clutches.”

screenshot-88

“Oh boy,” Vlad sighed. “I didn’t expect to see one of those here. It’s true then? You got away from the coven?”

“Like you don’t know?!” Chris exploded. “You ordered me killed to that jerk!”

“Easy, Chris,” Nellie shook her head. “Let them talk first.”

“Wait, someone ordered you killed?!” Leanna’s eyes grew wide. “Woah! When?”

“Hey, man,” Tobias touched Chris lightly. “For dangerous killers, they sure seem confused.”

screenshot-89

“Look, we’re sorry for any inconvenience our presence here is causing,” Leanna apologized. “We just heard there was a vampire girl here and we thought…”

“That it could be either our daughter or our daughter-in-law,” Vlad finished. “Our family’s in a bit of a pickle lately, you see.”

“A pickle?” Chris narrowed his eyes at the couple, thrown off by their peaceful demeanor.

“Yeah, we lost touch with our kids after our undercover stint to infiltrate the coven was unsuccessful. No calls, texts, you name it. It’s for everyone’s safety, we had to get out of Bridgeport real quick. But with after such a long period of no contact with them, we’re kind of worried,” Vlad explained.

“Oh, is this her?” Leanna noticed Dahlia, who was shrinking back since she realized there were vampires present. “Hi.”

Leanna looked a bit disappointed to discover that this wasn’t the girl she was looking for, but she also seemed to notice Dahlia’s discomfort and tried to make herself less scary.

“How did you find out about her?” Jordan asked.

“From Damon,” Vlad explained. “He’s the one who’s been helping us get settled in here. If you need him to, he can vouch for us – we are most certainly not associated with Elvira or anyone under her employ.”

“How do we know you’re not lying?” Chris considered. 

“You really are a suspicious one, aren’t you? Good,” Vlad nodded in approval. “This should keep you safer from them. But I can see we’re not welcome, so we’ll go.”

screenshot-90

“Wait, I don’t think he’s coven. He’s worse,” Sylvia realized why she recognized the guy. “You’re an undercover cop, aren’t you, Vlad?”

screenshot-144

“Wait, how do you kn… Sylvia? Fuck! Talk about the last person I expected to see here!” Vlad exclaimed. 

“Wait, you two know each other?” Leanna looked between them.

“That’s one way to put it,” Sylvia looked at them sharply. “He put a couple of my friends in prison. Would’ve nabbed me as well, if I hadn’t split when I did.”

“Well, excuse me! I was doing my job,” Vlad justified his actions. “And maybe you should thank me – if my investigation hadn’t made you split, maybe your buddies would’ve involved you in their drug cartel crap.”

“What are you talking about?” Sylvia harrumphed. “Petty theft was their act, not drug trade.”

screenshot-153

“Please, do you really think undercover police would’ve wasted time and resources on two small-time thieves if there wasn’t more serious stuff they were involved in?” Vlad laughed. “Do you think I didn’t know who was really behind those museum thefts?” He gave Sylvia a knowing smile. 

“Of course you knew. You were always hanging around Waylon’s. Keeping an eye on things. Pretending to be one of us,” she accused. “Is that how things went with the coven?”

“Eh, something like it,” Vlad looked away.

“I’ll go talk to that girl, dear,” Leanna walked away, adding. “Play nice.”

“I intend to. I’m not here to make any more enemies,” he assured both women. “I see you’re doing well. She yours?” he asked, nodding towards Circe. 

Sylvia nodded without saying anything.

screenshot-134

“Wow, never expected you to settle down. Congratulations. I hope life hasn’t been too bad to you.”

“It’s been alright. Looking at you, one wouldn’t think you’ve been around as long as you have,” she referred to him looking not a day older than the last time she’s seen him.

“Yeah, well, it’s what it is. Look, I get that you’re still mad about me arresting your buddies, but if it helps, they are doing much better now and not involved with any organized crime. Can we call a truce?”

“I suppose,” Sylvia agreed. “From the looks of it, you might have similar priorities to me at the moment.”

screenshot-126

“So, assuming we all believe you and you’re also on the run from them,” Chris approached them, “How did you get busted by the coven. I assume your cover worked for some time, if you’re a cop?”

“Got busted because I couldn’t do what they wanted me to do,” Vlad looked sheepish. “In part. It was always a dumb idea to try to infiltrate them, knowing how vicious everyone in Elvira’s top chain is, but even Bridgeport police, that’s often happy to look the other way, realized something was wrong in the city. Frankly, someone should’ve done something ages ago… they just didn’t feel like dealing with El and how she is.”

screenshot-94

“Well, we sure had to deal with it. My friends in there are still dealing with it,” Chris reminded him. To Nellie’s relief, he didn’t look like he was about to attack her guest anymore.

“Oh, they’re dealing with it, alright,” Vlad smiled. “After you disappeared, it seems your friends and the other vampires who don’t like El’s way of doing things have been far less obedient to her.”

“You’re saying people are getting rebellious?” Nellie asked.

“Hell yeah! Things aren’t going well for El. That’s why we thought it would be a good idea to infiltrate now. Probably would’ve been, if it had been someone other than me, too.”

“What made you get caught? And why do you keep referring to her as El?” Chris noticed.

“Well, El and I, we sort of used to date. Way back in the day, before she was as crazy as she is now,” Vlad admitted. “So I played the old flame angle. Don’t look at me like that, it was actually Lea’s idea, not mine. She thought it could work well. Well, it did. A little too well – Elvira wanted to make the relationship physical really quickly, way before anything was put in motion to take the coven down. And my reaction gave it all a way,” he finished sheepishly.

screenshot-115

“Dude, you fake-dated Elvira Slayer? Full offense, this is the dumbest thing anyone could do,” Chris couldn’t help but chuckle. Even Nellie agreed.

“Laugh all you want, but I still found out plenty during that job,” Vlad smirked. “Like the fact that more than half of her underlings are so very over her bloodshed and poor decision-making. All they need now is a little push in the right direction.

screenshot-102

“What exactly do you mean?” Chris asked.

“Look, I know that your experience with this coven has been awful. Same goes for everyone else, for a long time now. But this isn’t how it always was. Believe it or not, the coven was actually one of the organizations for peacekeeping between the vampires and the humans, back in the day. That’s why it was organized,” Vlad told him.

“Hard to believe, if you ask me. How did it get so bad?”

“Change in power. Or rather, change in leader,” Vlad sighed. “We used to have a really good leader. Under her oversight, things were good. Hell, I used to be part of the coven and when I figured it wasn’t for me, I was allowed to walk away without the slightest troubles. See what I’m saying?” 

“That’s unthinkable of, these days,” Chris agreed. “Dahlia’s mother ran from them and was persecuted for years.”

“I know. Because of how Elvira does things.”

“And how can you change all that? I assume you’re going to need an alternative leader for the coven? Unless you think the best option is going to be dissolving it?” Nellie asked. “Realistically, I don’t see that as a good idea.”

“I agree, considering the mentality of those currently in the coven and how much damage control is going to be involved, dissolving it would be terrible for everyone,” Vlad agreed. “But things could go smoothly if we find their old leader.”

“Jessica Talon?” Chris remembered. “She’s dead.”

“How are you so certain?” Vlad asked. “Have you ever seen the body? Because, let’s be honest, someone like Elvira would make sure evidence of the old beloved leader’s death would be there for all to see – so they don’t question her rule.”

“So where is she, then?” Nellie asked.

“That’s the problem. No one knows,” Vlad explained. “But good people are looking.”

screenshot-119

“Well, would you look at that,” Barron smiled. “Is he actually getting along with the big bad vampire?”

“Kind of looks that way,” Sylvia looked at Chris and Vlad. “More productive than the fighting if you ask me. I do wonder how Vlad messed up that undercover job, though. He used to be pretty good at going undercover. It took me years to realize he was a cop.”

“Do you think it’s true that the old vampire leader is still around?” Tobias asked. “That could be a good thing, I suppose.”

“Don’t hold your breath, kid,” Sylvia shook her head. “If she is really alive and well, don’t you think she would’ve gotten involved with what was happening to her former people?”

“When you put it like that…” he conceded.

“I’m kind of with Vlad, though,” Barron argued. “She could be alive. But if people are looking for her, why haven’t they found her?”

“I doubt she’d make it easy to find her. I agree with Vlad on that – if the current coven leader had the chance to off the old one and display her kill, she’d take it.” Sylvia turned around to see Leanna involved in a deep conversation with Dahlia. “I’ll see what that’s about.”

screenshot-121

Dahlia was wary when Leanna approached her, but she didn’t bolt. She was surrounded by people she knew could protect them, so she felt relatively safe. 

“Look, I know you must be scared of me. Damon told us you’re on the run from the coven and I totally get it. But I do feel like it’s my duty to tell you not all vampires are like them. I do wish we could’ve nipped what they were doing in the bud, before so much damage happened,” Leanna apologized. “All I can say is, we’ve overlooked their activities.”

“But you’ve tried to do something about it,” Dahlia ventured. “And now you’re separated from family?”

“Well, yes. But I know my kids are not to be trifled with – they’ve been part of the anti-coven movement for a while and they can take care of themselves, for the most part,” Leanna tried to reassure her. “The lack of contact is for the best – they’re in hiding too, and communication can lead to them being discovered.”

“This sucks,” Dahlia stated.

screenshot-110

“It does. But you know what? Here’s my local number. If anything comes up, feel free to reach out to me. Even if just for a chat.”

“Is everything alright here?” Sylvia joined them.

“Yes,” Leanna smiled, giving Sylvia her number. “The same goes for you. You can reach me at most times. I think you and I can chat about Bridgeport a bit. Especially since you and Vlad knew each other back then.”

“Even if it wasn’t for the best reasons?” Sylvia bit her lip.

“Does it even matter these days?” Leanna shrugged. 

screenshot-142

“So, what do you think about all this?” Chris approached Dahlia as the others were distracted.

Barron and Sylvia had to attend to the kids, who weren’t all too happy about this many people being present and the others were busy getting food ready for everyone who wanted it.

Dahlia looked at him in surprise. “You’re asking me?”

“Sort of, yeah. This concerns you. If we contact with this couple, it’s going to affect you one way or another.”

“I figured as much. I mean, they don’t seem evil, but if we’re honest, you know the coven better than I do,” she told him.

“I see what you’re getting at. I don’t recall these two being part of it when I was there, that much I can say. It’s been a few years, though…” he admitted.

“I think I’m going to talk to Nellie about this after everyone’s gone,” Dahlia decided. “But they’re here already. Might as well be nice.”


 

screenshot-168

Several hours later, the couple returned home and Sylvia started cooking for the teenagers.

“This was an interesting experience,” Barron decided, joining her in the kitchen. “Never expected those two to show up.”

“Tell me about it,” Sylvia muttered. “Talk about a blast from the past!”

“You really knew this guy?” he asked.

“Knew him? I remember doing shots with him at Waylon’s, back in the day! Of course, that was before I figured out he was a hound,” she chuckled. “So weird. The supernatural was right under my nose this whole time and I literally looked the other way!”

“Yeah…” Barron couldn’t help but be curious. “So, you and him. Were you ever a thing?”

“Ugh! What?! Please, I don’t sleep with narks,” she took out her disgust by chopping the onions extra hard. “Besides, I’m pretty sure he and Lea were already a thing back then, if they have a daughter Dahlia’s age. But yuck, now I need to get that image out of my head. Nope, no thanks.”

screenshot-169

“Wow, ok, chill, I was just curious,” he laughed. “Do you think they’re legit? Like, they’re really trying to bring down the coven?”

“They might as well be,” she shrugged. “But if they’re serious about it, they better put their money where their mouth is and help with the efforts. Otherwise – hit the road, vamps. I’ll be civil as long as I have to, but Vlad and I are not friends by a long shot.”

“Oh, I don’t know, I don’t know. If his actions made you scram from Bridgeport back then, then didn’t he literally contribute to our family existing?” Barron pointed out. “Maybe I should thank him.”

“Well, he did cause me to run from Bridgeport…” Sylvia grudgingly admitted. “The rest, he had no hand in. Like I said, I’ll be civil.”

While the parents are busy…

screenshot-166

“You’re always so sweet, Xandy,” Laurel smiled. “I’m sorry I couldn’t hang out earlier. We’re kind of up to our necks helping Grandma arrange everything at home, it’s kind of a mess. Ever since we’ve moved and everyone’s stuff combined, there’s like three times the mess.”

“Oh, I feel that. We’re still settling in. Still finding all the dust that needs to be cleaned out, the cobwebs that need to be removed, you name it.” He knew it all too well.

“I am loving it here, though!” she told him. “Did you know, the local coffee shop has a spell to keep your drink at the exactly right temperature – the entire time you’re drinking it?”

“Woah! I’m gonna have to check that out!”

screenshot-165

“I know right? So cool. Say, is Jamel ok with me being here? He always gets kind of sad with me around, I think.” The boy, to her at least, always looked to be kind of mopey. She hoped it wasn’t something she did.

“I think he’s just kind of sad, in general. He’s still getting over some stuff, you know,” Xander explained. The guy was still pretty traumatized by losing his parents, to his understanding. Of course, there were ways to improve the mood. “We should try to set him up with someone, don’t you think? It might make things nicer for him.”

“I’m in. Some of our classmates seem cool. Should we discuss who’s a better fit for him?”

“Want to stay by the fireplace? It’s warmer there.” And they could get some privacy.

screenshot-171

“Ah, this is nice,” she sank into the soft couch. The furniture was dated, but so very comfy!

“Agreed,” Xander joined her. “Well, I think the Swain girl is instantly out of question. She seems to be obsessed with vampires.”

“Isn’t it weird how we have vampires here? Only a couple, true, but they seem just, I don’t know, normal?” she pointed out.

“Yeah, the Van Gould siblings? They seemed chill. No pun intended. This is why Bailey’s out – she totally made Tristan uncomfortable the other day and we are so not cool with that.”

“Nope. Faith? She seems sweet. A little too stuck in her art notebook, but aside from that, nice.”

“She’s pretty cool, yeah,” Xander agreed. “What about Daydream? She’s friendly.”

“She tried to copy her homework from three different people in one day.”

“Hmm, not great. Maybe we shouldn’t pick for Jamel, though. How about we just set up a situation for him where something can go romantic if he so desires? But with no pressure?”

“Yeah! Let’s invite him out to the coffee shop with us and see if he vibes with anyone,” Laurel offered.

“And I’m totally vibing with that idea,” he smiled.

“You know what I’m vibing with? Being here right now. This is really cozy. And kind of romantic.”

“Oh? Do go on,” he winked at her.

screenshot-175

It didn’t take long for the two of them to forget all about conversations…

screenshot-176

And for things to get heated up even more…

“Hey, do you want to stay over tonight?” he whispered huskily.

“Would it be cool with everyone?” she breathed excitedly.

“Why ever not?” 

screenshot-182

“Let’s get our sleeping bags. It’s going to be just like old times,” Xander dug through the wardrobe.

“Nice,” she giggled. “You really know where everything is, huh? You don’t even need to ask your parents.”

“Well, yeah. Means I get more privacy.”

“Kind of like the kind we have now, lol?” she joked.

“Yeah, I guess,” he thought about something. Locking eyes with her, he realized they had the same idea. “Hey, do you want to…?

“Hmm?” she eyed the closet with a mischievous look in her eyes.

“Wait here just a moment,” he told her, jumping into the bathroom and coming out with something flat in a wrapper. “Just to make sure, I got you correctly?”

screenshot-187

In response, she pulled him closer and kissed him again. “You did.”

screenshot-183

 

The next chapter of this will come after the next part of the BC.

4 responses »

  1. Hmm undercover cops and coven information. Hopefully that coven gets taken down or the old leader is found. Kind of glad Xander and Laurel decided to drop the idea of playing matchmaker. those things rarely if ever work out.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Lots of good info on the coven in this chapter! If this old leader is still around, it’ll be good to find her. But there must be a good reason she isn’t around anymore. I trust Vlad for now, but we’ll see what happens.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a comment